Burlap Banner Tutorial

With Thanksgiving officially over we can move on to the most important decorating holiday of the year! Christmas! That’s right, my house is already fully decorated, my tree has been purchased and put up and all my “holiday smelling” candles are burning away! You may remember my Halloween Banner, well, since I didn’t really do a full tutorial, I decided to do one for my Christmas Banner!

Tools:

Burlap

Backing fabric (I picked a cute red and white striped material I found in my fabric drawer)

Paint (just regular craft paint works fine)

Paint tools (I used a sponge and a brush)

Sewing machine

Jute

Step 1:

Decide what your banner is going to say. Mine says Ho*HO*HO. So I cut out 8 burlap triangles.

Since I am lazy, I didn’t measure my triangles. I just eyeballed…hence why they are all different sizes and don’t have straight lines.

Step 2:

Cut out your fabric backs

You can conserve fabric and cut out triangles, or you can just do rectangles like I did.

Step 3:

Trace or paint on your letters

(I traced with some stencils)

And then decorate with various dots or shapes

I decided to paint Christmas trees as word spacers

But I think they kind of just look like green blobs…

Step 4:

Let your paint dry and then get ready to sew! Place the wrong sides of your fabric together and run through your machine. I used a straight stitch, but you can use a decorative stitch if you prefer.

You should end up with (8 in my case) triangles like this

Step 5:

Then cut each triangle out and lay them in the order you want them to be on your banner.

Take your jute

(I used this one)

And place it against the back of your completed triangle. Change your machine to a zig zag stitch and run it through.

I just kept adding the triangles until my banner was complete.

Tadaa!

Now, I have to warn you. If you want your banner to look perfect and straight, I would recommend measuring and pinning. But alas, I am always in too big of a rush to do that, so this is how I role.

Also, in a perfect world, I would have a beautiful mantle/fireplace to hang the banner from…AND, I would have thought about my stockings covering the banner…it may find a new home. Oh well. Happy sewing!

 -Megan

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. It’s (almost) Fall Y’all! | happinessislookinglikeyou

Leave a Reply

