Weekend in Boston

So, I missed TBIK on Friday because I was in Boston visiting my good friend Dana.

(Don’t worry, when I flew over Kansas, I waved to Aubrey)

Dana has been a part of TBIK since I have and enjoys posing with her Buddha every Friday.

Now, on to details of my trip (warning – picture heavy post):

I took the red-eye out Thursday night. My flight left at 9pm and I arrived in Boston at 5:30am. I had hoped to get some sleep, but the loud, Boston accented man siting directly behind me didn’t get the memo that when the lights on a plane are out you are supposed to be quiet. Not talk as loud as you can about how you spent the last 6 months working on an oil rigger. GRRRR. So, when I stumbled off the plane and saw that my friend was waiting in baggage claim with a giant coffee just for me, I couldn’t be happier.

 We grabbed my bags, hopped in a cab and headed to her apartment. Since it was raining (YES!) I threw on my Hunters and off we went!

Me in black, Dana in leopard

(Fun fact, I have had these boots for 2 years now. This is the first time they have seen some serious rain)

We walked to Flour Bakery for breakfast where I had Dana take a pic of me and husband (who was really at home).

Dana told me to order the sticky bun, but I didn’t, and when I saw hers I had serious food envy. It was soooo good.

Next stop, Sam Adams Brewery! Because who doesn’t enjoy a beer tasting at 11 am?

My favorite brew was the Cherry Wheat.

Then we walked around, jumped in puddles and just enjoyed how beautiful Boston is in the Fall.

Visited an amazing bookstore that sells super cool and old books

After walking EVERYWHERE we headed to Dana’s Dad’s hotel to have some wine and cheese before dinner (her Dad, Step-mom and Step-sister were visiting for the whole week).

Their hotel was so beautiful. Directly in the middle of downtown, it looks like a clock tower from outside and has the most amazing ceiling.

They also have an observation deck you can go out on and see the whole city from (we went out, but it was too rainy to see anything).

 After enjoying some free wine and cheese we headed to the North End to Al Dente.

(This is Dana and one of her late friends)

Dana is pretty much a VIP there. The door man knew her and seated us without our entire party being present (this is a big deal, especially on a Friday night). Dana’s 2 friends were 45 mins late (RUDE!) but they were nice, so I forgave them. We dined on 3 different dishes all with homemade pasta.

So delicious.

After dinner we headed over to Modern Pastry where I got a Cannoli and a Lobster Tail.

I know this is a terrible picture, but this is me enjoying my lobster tail.

We had to haul buns over to the warf to make our 9:30 Ghosts and Gravestones Tour, but then I saw the Paul Revere statue. I made the girls take my picture and then recited the Midnight Ride of Paul Revere aloud to anyone who would listen.

The Ghosts and Graveyards was fun and informative, but after not sleeping for 2 days I was waaaayyy tired. Anyways, this was our tour guide

He was over theatrical but funny anyways.

 

Day two in Boston started out bright and sunny! We hopped in the car and drove out of the city.

I wish our roads looked like this

and this

We were headed to Honey-Pot Hills Orchard where we went apple picking.

Ok, we didn’t really pick the apples (we were too lazy). I just posed for this. We went into the little room and bought one of the pre-picked bags, ate some homemade donuts and drank homemade apple cider.

But I did feed the goats

Looked at the 3 little pigs

And sat on an old tractor

 Honey-Pot was so beautiful

They even had a giant hedge maze

But, alas, we were too lazy for that too. Back to the city for us!

We spent the rest of Saturday walking the freedom trail!

Checking out the sites

And enjoying fall

We found this little gem “napping” in the park

And they say Redbull gives you wings…

Dinner on Saturday night was sponsored by Dana’s Dad (thanks Ken!). We dined at Beehive which is modeled after a speak easy! It is underground and there was a live jazz band playing. LOVED it!

After dinner we said goodbye to Dana’s family and met up with the girls for drinks at the Top of the Hub. A restaurant on the top of the Prudential building.

Here I am with husband, 52 floors up!

Then, we decided to pretend we were 21 again and “went out.”

Big mistake. Didn’t I remember what happened last time I went out?

This was me Sunday morning. Yes, I was in bed until I had to leave for my flight at 2:30 pm. I only got up to run to the bathroom and vomit. Multiple times.

So, that was my trip in a nutshell! Thanks for the fun Dana!

I waved to Aubrey again on my flight home. Miss you Aubs!

-Megan

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I loved Boston and missed out on the Sam Adams tour because we ran out of time. Looks like you had a great time~!

    Reply
    • Boston was so fun, I can’t wait to go back. Sam Adams tour was great – I think I forgot to mention that it was also FREE! (they do request a small donation, but it is totally worth it)

      Reply
  1. Apple Picking! « happinessislookinglikeyou

Leave a Reply

