Horse Art

Do you ever want things/décor/art and don’t know why? That is how I am feeling right now. I don’t LOVE horses, only ride them once every 5 or so years (when I say ride, I mean follow the leader walking along a trail) and most definitely don’t own one. That is why I can’t figure out why I am drooling over horse art right now! I mean, check out these amazing pieces from Zgallerie!

{source}

{source}

{source}

 But with prices ranging from $299-$699, these pieces of art are not in my budget. So, I decided to make my own.

I happen to have a cousin (hi Kacy!)

{Kacy’s blog}

who unlike me, LOVES horses. She loves them so much she even happens to have one (which makes my art making that much easier). I emailed her asking for a picture of her horse (I sent her the Zgallerie sample) and within minutes she emailed me back with this:

 

Perfect! She made my life even easier by then sending me an already photoshopped version! Timesaver!

Kacy, I love you.

Off to Staples I go! I dropped off the image (on a flashdrive) and asked for an Engineers print. $7 for a giant (they only come in black and white) print of the horse?? Perfect!!! They said the print would be ready the following day for pick up.

 I went back to pick it up and the worst thing ever happened! They had lost my flash drive! They took down my number and promised to call if they found it. They did. 3 WEEKS LATER!!!! But since they lost my flash drive, and the print of the horse, they didn’t charge me when they finally got around to printing it out. Score!

Now on to the fun part.

 I took the leftover piece of wood from my DIY headboard and centered the horse print

Then I lifted the top and bottom and glued it to the wood using spray mount.

Here it is! I like the wrinkles/bubbles, but those can be avoided by very careful gluing.

 

Next I drug the super heavy wood piece outside to give it a good coat of stain. I stained right over the picture because it wanted it to look vintagish.

While the stain was wet I dabbed it with a dry rag to create a sort of painting look.

Voila!

Total project cost $0.

Now I just have to find out where to hang it….my condo currently doesn’t have any free wall space that can accommodate this giant horse head (it’s way bigger than I thought it was going to be) so it  is just leaning up against a wall in the guest room. I’ll let you know where it ends up 🙂

-Megan

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Looks great!!! You know if you can’t find a home for it….I will be happy to take it. ha ha. just cart it up to Seattle. 😉

    Reply
  1. DIY Striped Curtains « happinessislookinglikeyou

Leave a Reply

