A New Love In My Life

Oh my, I have recently discovered something that has changed my life for the better. I don’t know how I lived without it for 20-something years! Really. Amazing. My new found love is a little something called Tajin.

Tajin, according to Wikipedia, “is a tangy, spicy “fruit seasoning” powder (called salsa en polvo in Spanish) consisting of chile peppers, salt, and dehydrated lime juice. It is available in small plastic shaker bottles that can be found in almost any general store, and is commonly used as a condiment on the tables of many Mexican restaurants, and as a seasoning in micheladas, a beer cocktail.” Well, I have frequented many Mexican restaurants and I have NEVER seen Tajin as a condiment on my table.

I was introduced to this wonderful, flavorful, party in my mouth by my work friend Julia (pronounced hu-lee-a) Meza. I don’t think I can ever thank her enough.

Julia! Thank you for bringing Tajin into my life!

I love it so much that I decided to share with my girlfriends at our Girls Night last night. I served it on watermelon. AND, like me, my 4 best friends had NEVER heard of Tajin before. This is going to be fun…

I took a picture of each girl to document their facial expressions when each of them tasted the Tajin for the first time. Here we go!

Up first, Katie!!!

She HATED it! I’m not gonna lie, I was a little disappointed. I mean, I am the maid-of-honor in her wedding and she doesn’t like Tajin?? Maybe she will learn to love it?

Next up, Elizabeth!

Elizabeth has a diverse pallet. She said she enjoyed the Tajin covered watermelon, but I feel like she could take it or leave it.

Lynn’s (my FBB) turn! I knew she was going to love it. Lynn and I have spent a bit of time in Mexico together and both feel like we can channel our inner Latina.

Here she is making love to her Tajin covered watermelon. That’s my girl!

Last up is Mary.

Yup, she hated it. She didn’t even swallow her piece! She immediately spit it out into the sink. Come on Mary! That was some good Tajin you wasted!

Well, since both Lynn and I love and cherish Tajin we decided to put it on:

Black Berries

Salad

And even in our white wine spritzers

I’m kind of sad that not all my girlfriends love Tajin as much as I do, but hey, I guess that leaves more for Lynn and me. We just have to remember that Tajin is not a candy.

(it really says that on the bottle)

-Megan

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I’ve never heard of either – I will have to hunt some down and try it!

    Reply
  2. It’s seriously amazing. So good. Salty, limey, chile-y?

    Reply
  1. Adopt-A-Family Christmas « happinessislookinglikeyou

Leave a Reply

