Mother’s Day Cake Recipe

I hope everyone out there had a great Mother’s Day! Well, since I am not a Mother, future husband and I celebrated with our parents. We started out bright and early with future husband’s parents and had breakfast at Stuft Surfer, a cute little walk-up type place great for breakfast on the boardwalk. You eat your food at picnic benches right on the sand.

 

Photo via Yelp

We then had to drive about 2 miles down the street to meet my parents (and sister and her boyfriend) at Harborside for the Mother’s Day brunch buffet. We weren’t that hungry, but don’t tell them 🙂

 (photo via Yelp)

I spent the rest of the day running errands with my Mom and sister and then we all met back at my parents’ house for dinner. Yummy salad with chicken and then a vanilla/lemon Mother’s Day cake I made for dessert.

I threw this cake together for Mom because she wasn’t too thrilled when I purchased her birthday cake last month instead of making it. So, I thought I would share the recipe! It was delicious and everyone loved it. But of course, I messed it up a bit. Pretty typical for me.

Vanilla/Lemon Cake Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups flour 1 1/2 cups sugar

3 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup milk

½ cup margarita mix (had it leftover in the fridge from the Margarita Cake)

8 ozs of sour cream
3 eggs

Lemon Curd for filling

Instructions:

Cream together your butter and sugar in your mixer. Sift together your dry ingredients in a large bowl (flour, baking powder, salt). Dump them in your mixer with the butter and sugar. Add the rest of your ingredients and mix for 30 seconds, scrape the sides and mix for about 2 mins (on medium). Then pour into a greased 9” round pan. Bake at 325 for 30-35 mins. I repeated the recipe because I wanted to make a tall cake. I forgot to add the sour cream the first time around, so my bottom 2 layers are a little dry. I filled layers 1 and 2 with lemon curd, then filled layers 2 and 3 with lemon buttercream, then lemon curd again for layers 3 and 4. Then I iced the entire cake with lemon buttercream.

This is my go-to frosting recipe. It is really easy to adapt for different flavors

 Lemon Buttercream:

2 sticks of butter

1 stick of Crisco

1/3 cup luke warm water

1 tsp salt

1 tsp coffee creamer (powdered)

1 tsp clear vanilla

1 tsp butter extract

2 tsp lemon extract

2 lbs powdered sugar

Instructions:

Cream together your butter and Crisco. Then add the salt and coffee creamer to the luke warm water. Stir until dissolved. Add the rest of the liquids to the water/salt/creamer mixture. Then alternate liquid and powdered sugar as you pour it in your mixer (while it’s mixing on low).  Mix it up in your mixer for about 5 mins (on medium) and you have the fluffiest and yummiest buttercream ever!

 (notice the denser/flatter bottom layers? That’s what happens when you leave out an ingredient)

-Megan

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

