Baking Flops

I’ve been baking as long as I can remember. My sister and I would squirm by our mom’s side fighting, deciding who would get to crack the egg or stir the ingredients together. I still love to bake but that doesn’t mean my skills have improved in the 20 odd years I’ve been doing this. It’s interesting to call oneself a baker when all we really do is follow someone else’s recipe, instruction by instruction. Then why does that recipe turn out great for one person and terribly for another?

A couple weeks back I was following a recipe I found for inside out muffins.  They look SOOOO good. BUT they turned out SOOO bad. Hah. I’ve never been a perfectionist and that’s the problem.  If I’m out of baking soda, well then the dang muffins don’t get baking soda. Even the visual – my muffin in the picture on this post is nothing like the picture in the link posted above. Image

It’s all in good fun though. Baking is something relaxing for me and the bad treats make me only enjoy and be proud of myself for the treats that turn out better. Or maybe I should just ask myself before I bake if I have the patience to follow the instructions and not overlook one step or ingredient. 🙂 Then it should turn out OK, right?  Who really knows.

To better baking!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

