Margarita Cake

Because no one wants to come to work to celebrate Cinco de Mayo on a Saturday, my office decided to celebrate Cuatro de Mayo on Friday. In true office party fashion, everyone brought in a little something. Originally we were going to have a dip off. Everyone making a different dip and the best one wins, but because I am now 100% dedicated to my fitness, I didn’t want to make a dip only to have it sit in my car while I squeeze in a before work workout. I was at a loss on what to bring, so I consulted my wonderful friend, Elizabeth, and she pointed me in the direction of the Margarita cake. She remembered a post from last year on one of her favorite blogs, Sweet Tooth Sweet Life.

 

Eureka! Margarita cake it is! I stopped at the store on my way home and got all the necessary ingredients. But of course, once I got home and started baking, I realized I had forgotten some basic essentials. Oh well, time to modify the recipe.

Step 1:

Combine your crushed pretzels with sugar and melted butter. The recipe called for all white sugar, but I ran out so I hid some brown sugar underneath the white

Step 2:

Press your pretzel mixture/dough in a greased 13×9. Under normal circumstances I would NOT have used the disposable baking dish, but because this is a work party I didn’t want to have to worry about bringing home my nice baking dish, washing it, etc.

Step 3:

Combine white cake mix, applesauce, margarita mix, grated lime peel (make sure you wash your limes before you peel them. Who knows who’s dirty hands have touched them before purchase) and 3 egg whites (I only had 2 eggs left, so I just used 2 whole eggs instead of 3 egg whites).

Don’t the grated limes look cute?

Step 4:

Mix it up! (Don’t judge me for the dirty-looking mixer, I accidentally dropped it in the cake mix before I got it all mixed up. Shhh, don’t tell the people eating my cake).

 

Step 5:

I didn’t want to waste my peeled limes, so I squeezed 1 over my crust before I poured the cake batter on it.

 

Step 6:

Pour the cake batter on the pretzel crust and stick it in the oven! 350 for 35 mins.

 

Step 7:

Wait patiently for it to be done and you should have something like this!

 

(I squeezed my second peeled lime over the hot cake…mmmmmm)

Step 8:

Wait again…for the cake to cool, then frost with the cool whip! I added sliced limes :)

See what it looks like! Elizabeth wanted me to add little straws (great idea) but alas, I forgot straws too….

Wish I had some more right now

Aubrey likes it!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Mother’s Day Cake Recipe « happinessislookinglikeyou

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

